My Favorite Published RPG Adventures of All Time

I came across a group of folks trying to name their favorite published adventures for the role-playing hobby. I had a little trouble coming up with a list of my own. Upon reflection, the majority of my gaming appears to have been home-brewed excitement. Oh, the horror!

I’m only going to list actual “adventures,” rather than settings (which often inspired home-brewed adventures galore, but don’t really fit and would stretch the list too far).

So no Judges Guild City-State of the Invincible Overlord.

No Chaosium Arkham Unveiled.

No Chaosium Pavis.

And no TSR Rock of Bral. Oh wait, did I just make a list of my favorite settings which I’ve run or played in anyway? Oops.

Also, I’m only considering adventures that I’ve actually run or played. There are more that I’d really like to run or play, but I’ve left them off of this list.

And here we go! These come with my stamp of approval!

– The Enemy Within, for 1e Warhammer Fantasy Role-Play. Played. Opened my eyes to the joy of Warhammer. Takes you from zero to hero (as much as you can be a hero in the Old World). Just about every kind of adventure you could imagine, all over the map.

– The Traveller Adventure, for 1981 edition Classic Traveller (CT). Ran. An epic in GDW’s Third Imperium setting, Spinward Marches to be specific. Definitely teaches you what creator Marc Miller envisioned for the game. Economics and society, what types of adventures would be available. Of course, this one revolved around operating a merchant ship, and that was only one type of campaign possible in the game. We saw other possibilities in various unrelated modules, so if merchants aren’t your thing, don’t fret. But boy, it would’ve been nice if he’d written more epics like this one.

– Action Aboard the King Richard, a licensed adventure by FASA for CT. Ran online. An entire campaign centered on a luxury liner. I adore this one.

And let’s not forget the additional 15mm deckplans! Get out your Martian Metals!

– Shadows of Yog-Sothoth, for Call of Cthulhu (CoC). Ran when it was first released. I’ve run and played plenty more CoC over the decades, and have plenty I’d still like to run, but this one opened my eyes to what a long-term CoC campaign could be like. Even though you should expect to lose characters, you can keep the ball rolling with a little effort. It’s world-spanning, and yet manageable. Unlike some other vast campaigns out there.

– Apple Lane (included because of The Rainbow Mounds adventure), for 2e Runequest (RQ). Played. While I’ve played a lot of RQ, this adventure really stands out for its mysterious feel as you explore the depths of the caves. A whole lot of variety in a rather limited space. I wish there were a lot more RQ adventures like this one.

– The Big Rubble, for 2e RQ. Played. This is a series of adventures in the ruins adjacent to New Pavis, in Chaosium’s Glorantha setting. When I think of Runequest, I think of Pavis and the surrounding area. I’m ready to get my Adventurer’s License and head out on whatever expeditions you’ve got going!

– Tegel Manor, by Judges Guild (JG) for Original D&D. Ran many times, also got to play. Epitomizes gonzo D&D gaming. Everything from giant rats to vampires to a lich, all in one location. Tricks and traps. Love that it has a Temple of the Frog on a nearby hilltop.

– Caverns of Thracia, by JG for OD&D. Ran more than once. Lost city, subterranean caverns, lizard men, great maps, how could you go wrong choosing this one?

– Thieves of Badabaskor, by JG for OD&D. Ran. So many different ways to approach it. A fortress, bandits, patrols, dungeons and tombs. It even added to my campaign lore.

– Dark Tower, by JG for 1e AD&D. Ran. This desert adventure is set in the JG Wilderlands. My players’ party was led by a Mitraic paladin (my brother), they traveled down from the City-State of the World Emperor. Epic. Like Indiana Jones with swords, and that Cthulhoid sense of dread. Or more accurately, that Howardian sense of dread. Not to be missed.

– In Search of the Unknown, for Holmes’ Basic D&D. Played, then ran more than once. The introductory module, included in the box. Epitomizes the iconic D&D dungeon experience. Also an amazing, instructive and transformative beginning experience for a fledgling DM. Includes so many elements. Eventually replaced as “the introductory module” by Keep on the Borderlands because author Mike Carr was getting paid too much for his contribution. I wouldn’t pay money for Keep on the Borderlands. In Search of the Unknown is far superior.

– Ravenloft, for 1e AD&D. Played. The party led by my paladin. Who doesn’t love a spooky castle ruled by a mysterious count who dominates the peasant village below? It’s every Hammer film you ever loved.

– Drow Series: D1, D2, D3, Q1, for 1e AD&D. Played. My paladin again. OMG. These were signature, formative adventures for him. You can’t beat this exotic campaign from the pen of Gary Gygax.

And there you have it. I’d love to hear what you think, and what you’d include in your list.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.